ACM Transactions on

Parallel Computing (TOPC)

Latest Articles

Group Mutual Exclusion by Fetch-and-increment

The group mutual exclusion (GME) problem (also called the room synchronization problem) arises in various practical applications that require concurrent data sharing. Group mutual exclusion aims to achieve exclusive access to a shared resource (a shared room) while facilitating concurrency among non-conflicting requests. The problem is that threads... (more)

Optimizing I/O Performance of HPC Applications with Autotuning

Parallel Input output is an essential component of modern high-performance computing (HPC). Obtaining good I/O performance for a broad range of... (more)

Concurrent Hash Tables: Fast and General(?)!

Concurrent hash tables are one of the most important concurrent data structures, which are used in numerous applications. For some applications, it is common that hash table accesses dominate the execution time. To efficiently solve these problems in parallel, we need implementations that achieve speedups in highly concurrent scenarios.... (more)

EagerMap: A Task Mapping Algorithm to Improve Communication and Load Balancing in Clusters of Multicore Systems

Communication between tasks and load imbalance have been identified as a major challenge for the performance and energy efficiency of parallel applications. A common way to improve communication is to increase its locality, that is, to reduce the distances of data transfers, prioritizing the usage of faster and more efficient local interconnections... (more)


ACM Transactions on Parallel Computing Names David Bader as Editor-in-Chief

ACM Transactions on Parallel Computing (TOPC) welcomes David Bader as new Editor-in-Chief, for the term November 1, 2018 to October 31, 2021. David is a Professor and Chair in the School of Computational Science and Engineering and College of Computing at Georgia Institute of Technology.


About TOPC

ACM Transactions on Parallel Computing (TOPC) is a forum for novel and innovative work on all aspects of parallel computing, including foundational and theoretical aspects, systems, languages, architectures, tools, and applications. It will address all classes of parallel-processing platforms including concurrent, multithreaded, multicore, accelerated, multiprocessor, clusters, and supercomputers. READ MORE

Forthcoming Articles

Distributed Partial Clustering

A Generalized Parallel Task Model for Recurrent Real-Time Processes

A model is considered for representing recurrent precedence-constrained tasks that are to execute on multiprocessor platforms.
A recurrent task is specified as a directed acyclic graph (DAG), a period, and a relative deadline. Each vertex of the DAG represents a sequential job, while the edges of the DAG represent precedence constraints between these jobs. All the jobs of the DAG are released simultaneously and need to complete execution within the specified relative deadline of their release. Each task may release jobs in this manner an unbounded number of times, with successive releases occurring at least the specified period apart. Conditional control structures are also allowed. The scheduling problem is to determine whether a set of such recurrent tasks can be scheduled to always meet all deadlines upon a specified number of identical processors.

This problem is shown to be computationally intractable, but amenable to efficient approximate solutions. Earliest Deadline First (EDF) and Deadline Monotonic (DM) are shown to be good approximate scheduling algorithms. Polynomial and pseudo-polynomial time schedulability tests, of differing effectiveness, are presented for determining whether a given task set can be scheduled by EDF or DM to always meet deadlines on a specified number of processors.

Multigrid for Matrix-Free High-Order Finite Element Computations on Graphics Processors

Distributed Detection of Cycles

Editorial from the Editor-in-Chief

All ACM Journals | See Full Journal Index

Search TOPC
enter search term and/or author name